Making of Lush

Originally published at: https://www.ronenbekerman.com/making-of-lush/

This is Lush, Lisa Della Dora’s personal project, and the only way to travel in the past year! This is a project of escape and a test of caustics too. Can you spot the animals?

Hi everybody, I’m Lisa. I’m a 3D artist, the art director of the MADI (Post-graduate Master in Digital Architecture of the Iuav University of Venice), and the creator of the Italian blog and ArchViz community Render IT!

I’m thrilled that Ronen invited me to show some insight into one of my latest personal projects: Lush. I developed the image in 3ds max + Corona Renderer, and I did post-production in Photoshop.

Here you can see the final results I achieved with this scene, and I’m going to explain to you more in detail how I developed the main frontal image.

References for Lush

When I work on a personal project, I do some research. Sometimes I base it on I photo I shoot. Most of the time, it’s many ideas that become clearer once I find the proper references.

In this case, I knew that my main goal was to play with water and caustics, so I based my research on understanding how water, reflections, and caustics work in the real world and how to recreate the right light.

Here are some of the references I concentrated on.

[av_masonry_gallery ids=’134664,134663,134665′ items=’-1′ columns=’flexible’ paginate=’pagination’ size=’flex’ gap=’large’ overlay_fx=” container_links=’active’ id=” caption_elements=’none’ caption_styling=” caption_display=’always’ color=” custom_bg=”]

Also, here is the link to the Pinterest board I created for the project:

3d Modeling

The scene is quite simple. I placed the plants one by one by hand to recreate the exact composition I had in mind.

There’s just one light source, a basic Corona Renderer Sun and a Corona Renderer Sky in the environment.